Making a Difference Awards

Back to News

Deeping St James Parish Council held their Making a Difference Awards on 17th May during their Annual Parish meeting, hosted at The Deepings School.  The Council had requested nominations from groups or individuals working in the community to help others.   The awards were presented by Nicholas Watts MBE from Vine House Farm and were attended by local dignitaries.

The Deepings School was delighted to nominate six students who have all excelled throughout  their school careers and are exceptional young people.  Nathan Cook and Charlie Bennett were both nominated for their dedicated voluntary work with the student Technical Team at the school.  Chay Dummett and Hayley Cancea were recognised for being terrific ambassadors for the school as Headboy and Headgirl, assisting at many school and community events throughout the year.  Imogen Norris was nominated for taking a major role in running the Sixth Form Council and motivating younger students in school productions.   Jovi Atkinson was recognised for his work as President of Interact, the youth arm of the local Rotary Club, and for raising funds for ‘Cardiac Risk in the Young’.   Congratulations to Morgan Underwood from Linchfield School who won the award for her charitable fundraising.

Two members of the school support staff were also nominated, Kate Carr for her hard work as a Technician in the technology department and fundraising activities for charity and Lisa Goodchild the School Business Manager for making a difference to both the school and wider community in the course of doing her job.   Lisa was delighted to win one of the four awards presented on the evening and congratulated her fellow nominees. 

The school would also like to congratulate Carol Precey who won the ‘citizen most making a difference’ for her many years of charitable work and Friends of Deeping Library who won the community group category.  Special awards were made to the late John Fisher of Frognall and to Bob and Maggie Clack who retired from running Deeping St James’s Post Office last year.

Photos kindly provided by ‘I’d Rather Be In Deeping’ magazine

Chay Dummett, Imogen Norris, Nicholas Watts MBE and Morgan Underwood who were nominated in the ‘Young Person to most make a difference’ award

Sarah Young, Ann Bossingham, Kate Marshall, Nicholas Watts MBE, Lisa Goodchild and Kate Carr who were nominated for the category ‘to most make a difference in the course of doing their job’ award



You may also be interested in...